Cranfield Libraries: Financial resources: All recommended resources

All recommended resources

Please note that the following resource links will open in a new tab.

Company accounting data

Company accounts and financial performance data, current and historical.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.
FAME This link opens in a new window A financial information database of UK and Irish companies updated daily with up to 10 years of data. Search by any of 300 criteria including geographic location, SIC code or activity description, number of employees, etc. Display or print data in a variety of customisable formats or export to other applications such as excel spreadsheets. A Peer Analysis and Statistical Analysis option allows you to analyse the data further.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Datastream - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account and download Workspace to access the Excel add-in and Datastream. Datastream charting is available via Workspace web.

Stock prices and indices

Raw data for stock and index price research, both current and historical.

Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Datastream - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account and download Workspace to access the Excel add-in and Datastream. Datastream charting is available via Workspace web.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.

Brokers' and analysts' reports

Also known as research reports, these kinds of documents provide expert analysis on company and industry performance.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.

Financial ratios

Used to measure the efficiency and the profitability of a company based on its financial reports. Examples include EBITDA and Market Cap.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Datastream - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account and download Workspace to access the Excel add-in and Datastream. Datastream charting is available via Workspace web.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.
FAME This link opens in a new window A financial information database of UK and Irish companies updated daily with up to 10 years of data. Search by any of 300 criteria including geographic location, SIC code or activity description, number of employees, etc. Display or print data in a variety of customisable formats or export to other applications such as excel spreadsheets. A Peer Analysis and Statistical Analysis option allows you to analyse the data further.
Factiva This link opens in a new window Dow Jones service covering over 10,000 global press sources including over 2,000 newspapers and 4,000 trade publications. Also an excellent source of company information and financials. Full text: variable, up to 30 years archive - current. Please note: as part of our licence terms no text and data mining is permitted within Factiva and downloading is restricted to what you can physically read at one time.

Mergers and acquisitions

For in-depth analysis of M&A transactions.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.
SDC Platinum - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Detailed historical coverage (more than 20 years) of global new issues (IPOs) and mergers and acquisitions transactions. Also covers Private Equity, Joint Ventures and Municipal Bonds (Public finance). Please email library@cranfield.ac.uk for guidance. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account to access SDC Platinum.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.

Equity and bond issues

For data on bond and share transactions including Initial Public Offerings.

SDC Platinum - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Detailed historical coverage (more than 20 years) of global new issues (IPOs) and mergers and acquisitions transactions. Also covers Private Equity, Joint Ventures and Municipal Bonds (Public finance). Please email library@cranfield.ac.uk for guidance. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account to access SDC Platinum.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.

Private equity

Information on firms and funds involved in private equity transactions, together with the companies that receive investment.

Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.

Banking industry

Find financial data for the banking sector including league tables, peer analysis and standardised historical data.

BankFocus (Orbis) This link opens in a new window A database of banks worldwide, information sourced by Bureau van Dijk from a combination of annual reports, information providers and regulatory sources. Contains detailed information on over 38,000 banks (28,000 US and more than 10,000 Non-US), with 5 years' history for listed banks and 3 years' for unlisted.
Datastream - available via Workspace This link opens in a new window Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account and download Workspace to access the Excel add-in and Datastream. Datastream charting is available via Workspace web.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.

Company governance and boards

Current and historical information on board members and committees, in addition to ESG data.

BoardEx This link opens in a new window BoardEx currently contains full details on over 17,000 company boards and 670,000 Individuals board directors and senior managers. Our coverage consists of over 2,000 UK, 7,200 US company boards and a further 7,000 companies worldwide. BoardEx data is managed by our team of 250+ research analysts, ensuring its depth, quality and accuracy. To register to use this service, please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk with details of your research requirements.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.
Workspace This link opens in a new window *Note: New users need to register for a LSEG Workspace Account. Workspace provides access to the world’s stock markets with access to daily and historical data. As well as providing global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials and economic data, it also provides access to IBES estimates and value chain data.