Cranfield Libraries: Company information and analysis: All recommended resources

All recommended resources

Please note that the following resource links will open in a new tab.

Company profiles

Company profiles will generally include a company overview and key facts, information on structure and strategy, details of top competitors, major products and services, prospects etc. Some will also include a SWOT analysis.

Passport This link opens in a new window Global market research service and international consumer lifestyles. A source of in-depth statistics for 205 countries, including historical data and future forecasting. International business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. Includes market research reports, country profiles, company market share and brand share rankings published by Euromonitor. Coverage: 1977 - current (+ forecasts).
Factiva This link opens in a new window Dow Jones service covering over 10,000 global press sources including over 2,000 newspapers and 4,000 trade publications. Also an excellent source of company information and financials. Full text: variable, up to 30 years archive - current. Please note: as part of our licence terms no text and data mining is permitted within Factiva and downloading is restricted to what you can physically read at one time.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Thousands of scholarly business publications including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals. Also includes book content, conference proceedings, country, industry and market reports. Mobile app available. Full text: variable, 1922 - current.

Company news and analysis

The following resources provide access to press and analyst coverage for companies and their markets.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Dow Jones service covering over 10,000 global press sources including over 2,000 newspapers and 4,000 trade publications. Also an excellent source of company information and financials. Full text: variable, up to 30 years archive - current. Please note: as part of our licence terms no text and data mining is permitted within Factiva and downloading is restricted to what you can physically read at one time.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.

Competitor analysis

Analyse a company in comparison with its peers. the following resources provide tools which allow you to compare companies with both pre-defined and user-defined groups.

Factiva This link opens in a new window Dow Jones service covering over 10,000 global press sources including over 2,000 newspapers and 4,000 trade publications. Also an excellent source of company information and financials. Full text: variable, up to 30 years archive - current. Please note: as part of our licence terms no text and data mining is permitted within Factiva and downloading is restricted to what you can physically read at one time.
FAME This link opens in a new window A financial information database of UK and Irish companies updated daily with up to 10 years of data. Search by any of 300 criteria including geographic location, SIC code or activity description, number of employees, etc. Display or print data in a variety of customisable formats or export to other applications such as excel spreadsheets. A Peer Analysis and Statistical Analysis option allows you to analyse the data further.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Financial and market data covering publicly traded companies. Includes access to Compustat - fundamental financial and market information on both active and inactive companies, indices and industries for North America back to 1962. NEW Added Dec 2021 access to Investment research reports (also known as broker or analyst reports) for companies and industries. To register for on/off-site access: from the homepage, click on "New User?" and use your Cranfield email address to register. Access to Research reports is not automatic so once you have set up your Capital IQ account if you need access to research reports please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk so we can set this up for you.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.

Company governance and boards

Current and historical information on board members and committees.

BoardEx This link opens in a new window BoardEx currently contains full details on over 17,000 company boards and 670,000 Individuals board directors and senior managers. Our coverage consists of over 2,000 UK, 7,200 US company boards and a further 7,000 companies worldwide. BoardEx data is managed by our team of 250+ research analysts, ensuring its depth, quality and accuracy. To register to use this service, please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk with details of your research requirements.
Bloomberg - contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for information Bloomberg includes information on Equities, mergers and acquisitions, stock indices, commodities, currencies, economic data and statistics, government bonds, hedge funds, futures, credit default swaps, shipping and news. It also has company profiles, financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, industry sector information and stock ticker data for the last 3 months. Please contact library@cranfield.ac.uk for more information about this resource (available only in SOM Library) and off-site alternatives.