Most of our online resources are available from anywhere in the world. All you need is an internet connection.
On site, you will get automatic access to most articles and eBooks found in Library Search and in our list of Databases A-Z.
Off site, you will need to log in with your Cranfield username and password for full text access.
You have two options for logging in:
We strongly recommend you access databases using this site (either via the Databases A-Z or the subject/course page) and then enter your Cranfield login. This is the easiest option as database links will automatically prompt you for your Cranfield login where needed.
However, if you prefer to go directly to a particular database (e.g. via Google), look for a login / sign in option, choose ‘Institutional’ or 'OpenAthens' login, and select Cranfield University. This way is slightly more complicated because you won't be automatically authenticated.
Please do not use the extranet (VPN) as most resources are incompatible.
OpenAthens is the authentication system most of our databases require for full text access. Once you have logged in to a resource via OpenAthens with your Cranfield login, your details will be remembered across many other databases in the same session.
There are a few resources which require individual registration or are not available off-site. Please see the A-Z Database list for details.
Use the password manager or contact the Cranfield IT service desk.
We do not recommend accessing resources via your work or non-Cranfield VPN as this may confuse IP access to some of our databases - for example, you may be recognized as a non-Cranfield institution and will not get access to our full text subscriptions
If you know your login details but are having difficulty accessing a specific resource, please email email@example.com with as much information as you can (the resource name, the browser you are using, your operating system) and we will be happy to help.